Sick Day Vegan Spicy Tomato Soup

I’m sick. The baby is sick. But, I’ve got a bowl of my favorite soup and my awesome husband ran home some medicine for me on his lunch break. I’m well on the road to recovery.

When I’m sick, I want a soup that has lots of noodles in it. I like to take the Spicy Tomato Soup recipe from Giada De Laurentiis  and make it vegan and add double the amount of pasta. I’ve used your plain ole regular white pasta in addition to gluten free noodles with great success. The real bonus to this soup recipe is that my 2 year old will always eat a whole bowl of it and then ask for more!

IMG_20161229_141840_188.jpg

Read on for the recipe…

Recipe:

3 tablespoons olive oil
2-3 carrots depending on size, peeled and chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 (26 ounce) jar marinara sauce (I like to make from scratch)
28 ounces of vegan chicken broth
1 (15 ounce) can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 cup ditalini pasta (or any small pasta will suffice – gluten free is good, too!)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Warm the oil over medium-high heat. Add the chopped onion, minced garlic, and chopped carrots. Saute until soft or nearly soft as they will continue to cook later on. Add the remaining ingredients: your marinara sauce, “chicken” broth, beans, pasta of choice, salt black pepper, and red pepper flakes. Simmer for about twenty minutes.

Serves 4. If you have leftovers, it heats up nicely the next day. Leftovers are rare around here. When I have the extra supplies on hand, I like to make a double batch and put some in the freezer.

 

Leave a Reply

